Guide

Ukraine's Lost Heritage: Greatest Architectural Losses Among 200 UNESCO Monuments Destroyed

There are three basic factors that build a nation: language, religion and national heritage, including monuments.

The described objects are just a fraction of the destruction made on Ukraine's territories. Data from the Ministry of Culture of Ukraine and the Support Center for Culture in Ukraine show that over 450 monuments have been damaged by far, and this number is constantly growing. Cultural and art objects, religious centers, and governmental institutions constitute the majority of the destroyed architecture, but there is also a huge amount of residential estates that serve as shelters for the Ukrainian people.

As of 7 November 2022, UNESCO has verified damage to 213 sites since 24 February - 92 religious sites, 16 museums, 77 buildings of historical and/or artistic interest, 18 monuments, 10 libraries.

Chernihiv region

Donetsk region

Kharkiv region

Freedom Square / The Seat of Kharkiv Region State Administration

Location: Kharkiv, Kharkiv region

Date of origin: 1954

Date of destruction: March 1, 2022

Freedom Square is the heart of Kharkiv, where you can feel its extraordinary greatness and energy. Stretching over 12 hectares of space (960 x 125 meters), the square is the largest in Ukraine, the 6th largest in Europe, and the 12th largest in the world.

Interesting fact: Freedom Square is also famous for the performance of The Queen and Paul Rogers. The legendary band performed on the square in 2008, gathering 300 000 people.

The Seat of the Kharkiv Region State Administration is located in the historical part of the city, on Sumska street. Despite its architecture typical of the Soviet Union, the building fits perfectly into the overall street complex. It was built in 1954 in the style of the Stalinist Neo-Renaissance. The facade of this 6-story white brick building has been decorated with columns. This monumental construction is crowned with the coat of arms of Kharkiv.

In the past, it was a meeting place for various divisions of the Communist party. Nowadays, it is the seat of regional administration, and rallies and parades are held in the square in front of the building.

All Saints Skete of Sviatohirsk Lavra

Location: Tetianivka, Donetsk region

Date of origin: 19th century

Date of destruction: June 4, 2022

One of the greatest losses in terms of historical value is Sviatohirsk Lavra, often called the Lavra of Holy Dormition. The 17th-century baroque Saint Nicholas church and the main temple - All Saint Skete, the oldest all-wood church in Ukraine.

Sviatohirsk Lavra is a sizeable male monastery that belongs to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the Moscow Patriarchate. The main building of the temple compound is the five-dome cathedral of the Dormition of the Mother of God, raised in 1868. Since 2004, the Sviatohirsk Lavra has been one of the most prominent centers of Orthodox life in Ukraine.

When the Bolsheviks took over Ukraine, the temple became an asylum for monks, and with the intensification of the anti-religious communist campaign, the church was turned into a granary. It survived the Second World War, but in 1947 the church was blown up with the remains of war missiles, grenades and mines that were collected during the demining of the surrounding fields. The cemetery was also destroyed. After this act of vandalism, the area was not in use until Ukraine regained its independence in 1991. In 2000, the site was cleared in preparation for the new buildings.

Hryhorii Skovoroda Museum

Location: Skovorodynivka village, Kharkiv region

Date of origin: Second half of the 18^th^ century

Date of destruction: May 6, 2022

Another irrecoverable loss suffered by Ukraine is one of the most renowned museums in the Kharkiv region. Not only was it an example of interesting neoclassical architecture but, above all, a place of national remembrance, valued in terms of culture and nature. Hryhorii Skovoroda, after whom the museum is named, is a symbol of Ukrainian philosophy. An outstanding Ukrainian educator, philosopher and poet looked for answers to universal questions such as: "What is happiness? How to find it?".

Interesting fact: The house is surrounded by an old park with alleys leading to a pond. On its shore stands a 700-old oak which, unfortunately, was damaged during the Second World War and withered. Today, the oak is fenced, and there is a sign saying: "The giant oak under which Skovoroda loved to work."

The Hryhorii Skovoroda National Literary-Memorial Museum exhibits numerous antiquities: books, paintings, and Ukrainian everyday household items that vividly reflect the spirit of those times. The main part of the exhibition, however, is devoted to Skovoroda's life and his poetic and pedagogical legacy. The bright, one-story classical-style building is located on a small hill. One of its rooms commemorates Skorovoda and recreates the atmosphere of the last years of his life: an antique secretary desk with his manuscripts, books and quill pens, a bed covered with a scarf, and a simple peasant coat on the wall.

The park and the manor house, in which Skorovoda spent the last years of his life, were built in the second half of the 18th century. The museum commemorating the artist was opened in 1992.

Donetsk Academic Regional Drama Theater

Location: Mariupol, Donetsk region

Date of origin: 1847 (the first theatre troupes); 1956-60 (the building)

Date of destruction: March 16, 2022

Architects: Oleksandra Krylova and Oleh Malyshenko

Donetsk Academic Regional Drama Theater is one of the oldest theaters in left-bank Ukraine. Since the nineteen century, it's been the center of Donetsk's culture and social life. It's become a symbol of Mauripol and a landmark on the Ukrainian map. Some of the best Ukrainian actors and actresses performed in this theatre.

Interesting fact: The theatre entrance has a portico of four rectangular columns of composite order. The facade is crowned with a pediment featuring a sculptural composition of steelworkers and farmers, representatives of the main professions of the Pryazovia land, for whom the patroness of art performs a praise ode.

The theater was built in 1956-60 according to a project by Ukrainian architects Oleksandra Krylova and Oleh Malyshenko in the style of Soviet Monumental Classicism. The facade is made of gray Crimean Inkerman stone.

1847 is considered the beginning of the theater, when a theater troupe led by an entrepreneur, W. Vinogradov came to the city for the first time. There was no suitable building for a theatre at that time in Mauripol, so the performances took place in a barn. The first theater building with an audience for 800 people was opened in 1887. In 1934 it was named Donetsk Music and Drama Theater. It was closed in 1947 and reopened in 1959 as a Donetsk Regional Drama Theatre. In 1960, a new theater building was opened.

Shestovytsia Airport

Location: Chernihiv

Date of origin: The end of the 1980s

Date of destruction: February 28, 2022

A place famous for decorative mosaics by the honored artist Volodymyr Zinchenko, which have become an invaluable example of Ukrainian monumental art.

The airport became renowned for its unique design by a team of Ukrainian artists, especially for Volodymyr Zinchenko's mosaicsembellished on the building's facade. The mosaics consist of eight panels on the front walls of the airport and cover historic topics. Despite the fact that the site has not been well-maintained, Zinchenko's mosaics have been effectively preserved.

The airport was built in the late 1980s and, up until 1994, operated national and international flights. The site was closed in 2002.

Church of the Ascension of the Lord

Location: Lukianivka village, Kyiv region

Date of origin: 1879

Date of destruction: March 24, 2022

A monument of Ukrainian wooden architecture from the 19th century with exceptional historical and emotional value. It faced up to many threats and has become a symbol of liberation and the fight for religious freedom.

Interesting fact: Despite the troubled times, the church endured the communist hatred of religion and the fierce fights of the Second World War.

A cross-shaped church with a dome at the intersection of the naves and a bell tower above the entrance. An example of Ukraine's wooden architecture finished with extraordinary colors.

The church with a spherical dome and a bell tower has seen a lot in its 140-year existence. At the beginning of the German occupation in 1941, services previously forbidden by the Soviets in 1930 resumed in the church. After the Second World War, the Church of the Ascension of the Lord continued to run services until March 2022.

Yelets Assumption Monastery

Location: Chernihiv, Chernihiv region

Date of origin: 21st century

Date of destruction: March 2022

An integral part of the historical heritage of Chernihiv and one of the oldest churches in the Orthodox world. For centuries, the monastery has been an important sanctuary for Ukraine and the entire Christian world.

Interesting fact: According to a legend, the Mother of God icon appeared on one of the trees in the nearby forest.

The construction of the monastery commenced at the end of the 11th century, and at that time, it was a monumental building with elements of Romanesque architecture. In the 18th century, it was decorated in a Baroque style.

Yelets Assumption Monastery was founded in 1060 by the Grand Prince of Chernihiv. In the 13th century, Kyivan Rus was invaded by the Mongols, who looted and burnt the church down. In the 16th and 17th centuries, the temple changed its owner a few times, and after the Khmelnytsky Uprising, the monastery became the center of the Orthodox faith again.

Chernihiv Regional Library for Youth

Location: Chernihiv city

Date of origin: late 19th century

Date of destruction: March 11, 2022

The library building is an architectural monument from the late 19^th^ century and a unique landmark of Chernihiv. Originally an orphanage, it has an exciting history. The library is associated with Ukraine's prominent individuals, such as Taras Shevchenko, Vasyl Tarnovskyi and Borys Grinchenko.

Interesting fact: The Chernihiv museum was the only Ukrainian museum in the Russian Empire.

Constructed of red brick with white pilaster decorations and pointed arches, the building is an unusual mix of architectural styles, including neo-gothic.

Vasyl Tarnovski, a renowned Ukrainian philanthropist and cultural and public life activist, donated to the city of Chernihiv a unique collection of the country's historical and cultural monuments. The collection from the 17th-19th centuries included works of art, manuscripts, and Shevchenko's personal belongings, but its true gem was Cossack antiquities. After a long debate on where to house the collection, a space previously reserved for an orphanage was changed into a museum. In 1902, the Museum of Ukrainian Antiquities was officially opened. Almost 80 years later, in 1978, Chernihiv Youth Library was founded in the building.

Koenig Manor

Location: Trostianets, Sumy region

Date of origin: 18th century

Date of destruction: February 2022

Architect: Tymofii Nadarzhynskyi

This cultural heritage monument is a complex historical and architectural monument of national importance. The ensemble consists of three listed buildings: the main building of the estate, the house where the composer Peter Tchaikovsky used to live, and the so-called "Round yard," which originally served as a defensive fortification against the constant invasions of the Crimean Tatars. The site is one of the three wonders of the Sumy region.

Interesting fact: Because the Round Yard resembles an ancient amphitheater, it was used for theatrical performances at the beginning of the 19th century.

During the reign of the tsars, the main building was significantly modified with baroque decorative elements added to the facades and the building's layout rearranged. The Round yard's architect was Joseph Nadarzhynskyi - the son of the royal clergyman Tymofii Nadarzhynskyi.

In 1720, Peter I gave the estate to a clergyman Tymofii Nadarzhynskyi. Over the following years, the site changed owners, and in the 19^th^ century, Prince Golitsyn expanded the estate. The last owner was Leopold Koenig, the German sugar baron, after whom the site got its current name. In Soviet times the former palace housed a kindergarten. Later, the building deserted, and gradually fell into despair. During the years of independence, restoration works took place, and the Museum of History and Art was located in the main building.

Palace of Culture 'Youth'

Location: Mariupol, Donetsk region

Date of origin: between 1887 and 1910

Date of destruction: April 19, 2022

At the beginning of the 20th century, the "Continental" hotel was one of the most innovative and luxurious spots in Mariupol. It was the center of cultural life and a famous attraction for the intellectuals. It hosted prominent guests from all over the Russian Empire as well as actors, musicians, and filmmakers from Europe who came to Mariupol on tour.

Interesting fact: The first electric printing house of the Goldryn brothers was located in the basement of the building. With the raise of Soviet power, the building housed the headquarters of the Supreme Commander of the Black and Azov Naval Forces and, later a union center. During the Nazi occupation, it was a house to a German headquarters.

From the old postcards, we know that the building was built in two stages. The first one was completed in 1898, making the building the first place in the city illuminated by electric light from a private power plant running on kerosene engines. The second stage was completed in 1910 when the concert hall was created, and the first floor was turned into a restaurant. The three-story hotel building had a decorative facade with elegant stone window surrounds and relief walls.

Yelets Assumption Monastery was founded in 1060 by the Grand Prince of Chernihiv. In the 13th century, Kyivan Rus was invaded by the Mongols, who looted and burnt the church down. In the 16th and 17th centuries, the temple changed its owner a few times, and after the Khmelnytsky Uprising, the monastery became the center of the Orthodox faith again.

Chernihiv Regional Library for Youth

Location: Chernihiv city

Date of origin: late 19th century

Date of destruction: March 11, 2022

The library building is an architectural monument from the late 19th century and a unique landmark of Chernihiv. Originally an orphanage, it has an exciting history. The library is associated with Ukraine's prominent individuals, such as Taras Shevchenko, Vasyl Tarnovskyi and Borys Grinchenko.

Interesting fact: The Chernihiv museum was the only Ukrainian museum in the Russian Empire.

Constructed of red brick with white pilaster decorations and pointed arches, the building is an unusual mix of architectural styles, including neo-gothic.

Vasyl Tarnovski, a renowned Ukrainian philanthropist and cultural and public life activist, donated to the city of Chernihiv a unique collection of the country's historical and cultural monuments. The collection from the 17th-19th centuries included works of art, manuscripts, and Shevchenko's personal belongings, but its true gem was Cossack antiquities. After a long debate on where to house the collection, a space previously reserved for an orphanage was changed into a museum. In 1902, the Museum of Ukrainian Antiquities was officially opened. Almost 80 years later, in 1978, Chernihiv Youth Library was founded in the building.

Koenig Manor

Location: Trostianets, Sumy region

Date of origin: 18th century

Date of destruction: February 2022

Architect: Tymofii Nadarzhynskyi

This cultural heritage monument is a complex historical and architectural monument of national importance. The ensemble consists of three listed buildings: the main building of the estate, the house where the composer Peter Tchaikovsky used to live, and the so-called "Round yard," which originally served as a defensive fortification against the constant invasions of the Crimean Tatars. The site is one of the three wonders of the Sumy region.

Interesting fact: Because the Round Yard resembles an ancient amphitheater, it was used for theatrical performances at the beginning of the 19th century.

During the reign of the tsars, the main building was significantly modified with baroque decorative elements added to the facades and the building's layout rearranged. The Round yard's architect was Joseph Nadarzhynskyi - the son of the royal clergyman Tymofii Nadarzhynskyi.

In 1720, Peter I gave the estate to a clergyman Tymofii Nadarzhynskyi. Over the following years, the site changed owners, and in the 19th century, Prince Golitsyn expanded the estate. The last owner was Leopold Koenig, the German sugar baron, after whom the site got its current name. In Soviet times the former palace housed a kindergarten. Later, the building deserted, and gradually fell into despair. During the years of independence, restoration works took place, and the Museum of History and Art was located in the main building.

Palace of Culture 'Youth'

Location: Mariupol, Donetsk region

Date of origin: between 1887 and 1910

Date of destruction: April 19, 2022

At the beginning of the 20th century, the "Continental" hotel was one of the most innovative and luxurious spots in Mariupol. It was the center of cultural life and a famous attraction for the intellectuals. It hosted prominent guests from all over the Russian Empire as well as actors, musicians, and filmmakers from Europe who came to Mariupol on tour.

Interesting fact: The first electric printing house of the Goldryn brothers was located in the basement of the building. With the raise of Soviet power, the building housed the headquarters of the Supreme Commander of the Black and Azov Naval Forces and, later a union center. During the Nazi occupation, it was a house to a German headquarters.

From the old postcards, we know that the building was built in two stages. The first one was completed in 1898, making the building the first place in the city illuminated by electric light from a private power plant running on kerosene engines. The second stage was completed in 1910 when the concert hall was created, and the first floor was turned into a restaurant. The three-story hotel building had a decorative facade with elegant stone window surrounds and relief walls.

The building belonged to the Tomaso family, a local businessman of Italian origin. Creative evenings, lectures, and meetings of scientific and literary groups were held in the Concert Hall. The hotel's restaurant was soon announced as the best in the city. In the post-war period, the palace of culture of the Azovstal plant was located within the walls of the building. However, it was soon relocated, and the building was deserted until 2010 when the plant owners handed it over to the city. In the first decade of the 21st century, the Palace of Culture 'Youth' was born here - the hub for youth groups and creative development. In 2019, the center of modern art was opened under the historical name of "Hotel Continental," a multidisciplinary platform promoting contemporary Ukrainian culture within Ukraine and abroad. It was a place full of cultural life with numerous concerts, shows, festivals, art exhibitions, stand-ups, etc.

Damaged cultural sites in Ukraine verified by UNESCO

Chernihiv Region (15 DAMAGED SITES)

  • Historic building of the regional youth center, formerly the Shchors Cinema - (Chernihiv)
  • Church of St. Theodosius (Chernihiv)
  • The Military Historical Museum - a branch of the Chernihiv Historical Museum - (Chernihiv region)
  • Building of regional children's library (former Vasyl Tarnovsky Museum of Ukrainian Antiquities) - (Chernihiv region)
  • St. Catherine Church of Chernihiv - (Chernihiv)
  • Former District Court House in Chernihiv (built in 1904) - (Chernihiv)
  • Chernihiv Regional Universal Scientific Library. V.G. Korolenko (built in 1910-13)
  • St. Kazan Church in Chernihiv - (Chernihiv)
  • Memorial cemetery with a memorial sign to the dead and the chapel of St. Archangel Michael (built in 2014-21) - (Chernihiv)
  • Voskresenska Church (built in 1913) - (Chernihiv)
  • Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary (built in 1801-04) - (Chernihiv)
  • Central City Library M. Kotsiubynsky - (Chernihiv)
  • Regional Art Museum. G. Galagana (built in 1899) - (Chernihiv)
  • House of Culture - Ivanivka (Chernihiv region)
  • Memorial house-museum and estate of Mykhailo Kotsiubynskyi - Chernihiv (Chernihiv region)

Kyiv Region (32 DAMAGED SITES)

  • Ivankiv Museum - (Kyiv Region)
  • Voznesens'ka Tserkva, Church of the Ascension - (Kyiv Region)
  • Old church (Tserkva Heorhiyivsʹka) in Zavorychi village of Kyiv region - (Kyiv Region)
  • Petro-Pavlivska Church - (Kyiv region)
  • The Irpin Bible Seminary - (Kyiv region)
  • Memorial monument to villagers who died in the Second World War - (Kyiv region)
  • House of Culture (built in 1952-54) - (Kyiv region)
  • Church of the Resurrection of Christ - (Kyiv region)
  • Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (built in 2008) - (Kyiv region)
  • Monument to the fallen soldiers of the Armed Forces of Ukraine (established between 2014 and 2021) - (Kyiv region)
  • Bust of Taras Shevchenko in Borodyanka (established in 1999) - (Kyiv region)
  • Wooden Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (built in 1892) - (Kyiv region)
  • Church St. Georgiy Pobidonosets in Irpin (built in 2021) - (Kyiv region)
  • Convent of the Icon of the Mother of God "Uslyshatelnytsya" in Fasova village (built in 2012-16) - (Kyiv region)
  • Holy Trinity Church (built in 1909-15) - (Kyiv region)
  • Mass grave of soldiers and a monument to compatriots who died during the Great Patriotic War (established in 1951) - (Kyiv region)
  • Memorial monument to Afghan soldiers - (Kyiv region)
  • Church of Saints Elijah and Apostle Andrew the First-Called (built in 1997) - (Kyiv region)
  • Local History Museum of Borodyanshchyna in Borodyanka - (Kyiv region)
  • Central City Library in Irpin - (Kyiv region)
  • Palace of Culture. T.G. Shevchenko - (Kyiv region)
  • Monument to St. Archangel Michael in Borodiyanka (established in 2015) - (Kyiv region)
  • Makarivska Public Library (building of the early twentieth century) - (Kyiv region)
  • Monument to workers killed in World War II (renovated in 2016) - (Kyiv region)
  • Church of St. John the Baptist - Moshchun - (Kyiv region)
  • Church of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary - Lypivka (Kyiv region)
  • Village Library - Pidhaine (Kyiv region)
  • Makariv Public Library - Makariv (Kyiv region)
  • Village House of Culture - Petrushky (Kyiv region)
  • Khanenko Museum - Kyiv (Kyiv region)
  • Holy Ascension Church - Luk'yanivka (Kyiv region)
  • National Museum "Kyiv Picture Gallery" - Kyiv (Kyiv region)   

Kharkiv Region (52 DAMAGED SITES)

  • Orthodox church in Kamianka village of Izyum - (Kharkiv)
  • Uspensky Cathedral - Assumption Cathedral - (Kharkiv)
  • Kharkiv Court of Appeal building - (Kharkiv)
  • Historical "Slovo" building - (Kharkiv)
  • Kharkiv Art Museum - (Kharkiv)
  • Church of the Holy Queen Tamara - (Kharkiv)
  • Kharkiv National Academic Opera and Ballet Theater - (Kharkiv)
  • Residential historical building in Kharkiv - (Kharkiv)
  • Kharkiv State Scientific Library (Korolenko State Scientific Library) - (Kharkiv)
  • Building of the faculty of Economics of Kharkiv National University - (Kharkiv)
  • Building of the former "Palace of Labor" - (Kharkiv)
  • Church of the Holy Myrrh-Bearing Women - (Kharkiv)
  • Building of the former central lecture hall in Constitution Square (Kharkiv)
  • Historic residential building of the XIXth century (Kharkiv)
  • Memorial Complex of Glory in Kharkiv - (Kharkiv)
  • The monument of architecture "house of the former store "Lux" (XIXth century) (Kharkiv)
  • Drobytskyi Yar Holocaust Memorial (Kharkiv)
  • Historical complex of building of fire department buit in 1886 - (Kharkiv)
  • Former women's gymnasium (built in 1870s) - (Kharkiv region)
  • Kharkiv school No 7 (built in 1906-07) - (Kharkiv)
  • Building of the Department of Labor and Social Protection of the Population of Izyum City Council (building of the XIXth century) - (Kharkiv region)
  • Building of the Research Institute of Venereology (building 1889) - (Kharkiv)
  • Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (built in 1838) - (Kharkiv region)
  • Church of the 2000th anniversary of the Nativity of Christ in Kharkiv (built in 1999-2001) - (Kharkiv)
  • V.A. Afanasiev Kharkiv State Academic Puppet Theater (built in 1906-1907) - (Kharkiv)
  • Holy Ascension Cathedral (All-Holy Church) in Izyum (built in 1826, completed in 1902-03) - (Kharkiv region)
  • Church of the Cross  (built in 1809-23) - (Kharkiv region)
  • Church of Saint Demetrios of Soluneia - (Kharkiv region)
  • Former Palace of Culture for the railway workers in Kharkiv (Central House of Science and Technology of the Southern Railway) - (Kharkiv)
  • Memorial to the Victims of Totalitarianism (built in 1991-2000) - (Kharkiv)
  • Kharkiv Regional Palace of Children and Youth (House of Children's and Youth Creativity, built in 1851-53) - (Kharkiv)
  • Church of the Transfiguration (built in 2011-13) - (Kharkiv)
  • Church of St. George the Victorious - (Kharkiv)
  • Strytenska Church in Lisne (built in 2018) - (Kharkiv region)
  • Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker (built in 1991-96) - (Kharkiv region)
  • Hryhorii Skovoroda National Literary Memorial Museum - Skovorodynivka - (Kharkiv region)
  • City House of Culture - Derhachi (Kharkiv region)
  • St. Andrew's Church - Kharkiv (Kharkiv region)
  • Holy Assumption Church - Korobochkyne (Kharkiv region) 
  • House of Culture - Lozova (Kharkiv region)
  • Manor house (built in 1832) - Kharkiv (Kharkiv region)
  • Mosque "Sunnah" - Kharkiv (Kharkiv region)
  • Chuhuiv House of Culture - Chuhuiv (Kharkiv region).
  • House of Culture - Prudyanka (Kharkiv region)
  • Building of the Kharkiv National Technical University of Agriculture named after. P. Vasylenko - (Kharkiv)
  • Music school (building of the second half of the 19th century) - Izyum (Kharkiv region)
  • Architectural monument of local importance - former Real School built in 1882 (Lyceum No. 4) - Izyum (Kharkiv region) 
  • Polovtsian Stone Women (9th-13th centuries) - Izyum (Kharkiv region)  
  • Holy Trinity Church (built in 1826) - Mala Komyshuvakha (Kharkiv region) 
  • Church of St. Nicholas - Kupyansk (Kharkiv region)   
  • House of Culture "Zaliznychnik" (built in 1926) - Izyum (Kharkiv region)
  • Church "New Life" - Izyum (Kharkiv region)

Zaporizhzhya Region (8 DAMAGES SITES)

  • Church of St. Tikhon of Zadonsky - (Zaporizhzhya region)
  • Historical and Architectural Museum "Popov Manor" (Historical and architectural museum reserve "Sadyba Popova", complex of the 19th century) - (Zaporizhzhya region)
  • Former House of Heinrich Janzen (built in the late nineteenth century) - Orikhiv (Zaporizhzhya region)
  • Zaporizhzhya-ii Railway station (architectural monument of local significance built in 1904) - Zaporizhzhya (Zaporizhzhya region)
  • Mass grave of soldiers of the Second World War (monument of local importance) - Verbove (Zaporizhzhya region)
  • Church in honor of Martyr Oleksander - Termirivka (Zaporizhzhya region)
  • Urban planning monument of local importance-Residential building (1953-54) - Zaporizhzhya (Zaporizhzhya region)
  • Center of Culture and Sports - Huliaipole (Zaporizhzhya region)      

Zhytomyr Region (2 DAMAGED SITES)

  • Orthodox church near Zhytomyr (Church of the Blessed Virgin of the Ovruch Eparchy of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church) - (Zhytomyr Region)
  • Church of St. Nicholas (Church of the Holy Veil defrocked Archimandrite Agathangelos) - (Zhytomyr Region)

Donetsk Region (60 DAMAGED SITES)

  • Svyatogorsk Holy Dormition Lavra - (Donetsk region)
  • Church of St. Nicholas of Myrlikiysky Wonderworker - (Donetsk region)
  • Chapel of the Holy Martyr Tatiana - (Donetsk region)
  • Church of Christ the Savior (Tserkva Khrysta Spasytelya) - (Donetsk region)
  • The Drama Theater in Mariupol -  (Donetsk region)
  • Our Lady of Kazan Orthodox Cathedral in Marinka-  (Donetsk region)
  • Monument to Metropolitan Ignatium of Mariupol in Mariupol - (Donetsk region)
  • St. Archangel Michael Church in Mariupol - (Donetsk region)
  • Church of the Icon of the Mother of God "Joy of All Mourners" - (Donetsk region)
  • The Holy Transfiguration Church - (Donetsk region)
  • St. Nicholas the Wonderworker - (Donetsk region)
  • Church of the Nativity of the blessed Virgin Mary in Mariupol - (Donetsk region)
  • St. Dmytrivska Church (built in 1850-61) - (Donetsk region)
  • Mariupol Museum of Local Lore - (Donetsk region)
  • Residential building of the XIXth century in Mariupol - (Donetsk region)
  • Residential buildings in Mariupol (1930-41) - (Donetsk region)
  • Monument to V.G. Korolenko in Mariupol (installed in 1966) - (Donetsk region)
  • City palace of Culture in Mariupol (built in 1952) - (Donetsk region)
  • St. Volodymyr's Church in Mariupol (built in 1999-2000) - (Donetsk region)
  • Church Vifaniya in Mariupol (building of the early XXI century) - (Donetsk region)
  • Yuryev's House in Mariupol (building of the late nineteenth century) - (Donetsk region)
  • City palace of Culture "Ukrainian House" in Mariupol - (Donetsk region)
  • Palace of Culture "Iskra" (building 1960) - (Donetsk region)
  • Center for Contemporary Art and Culture named after A. Kuindzhi in Mariupol (built in 2004) - (Donetsk region)
  • Palace of Culture "Molodizhny" in Mariupol (built between 1887-1910) - (Donetsk region)
  • Chaika House of Culture in Mariupol - (Donetsk region)
  • Holy Trinity Church in Mariupol (built in 2010) - (Donetsk region)
  • School of Arts in Mariupol (built in 1953) - (Donetsk region)
  • Estate of A. Tregubov (buildings of the end of XIXth - beginning of XXth century) - (Donetsk region)
  • House with a spire tower in Mariupol (built in 1953) - (Donetsk region)
  • Central City Library V.G.Korolenko in Mariupol - (Donetsk region)
  • Building of the former Alexander Men's Gymnasium (built in 1894-99) - (Donetsk region)
  • Artem House of Culture (built in 1926) - Lyman - (Donetsk region)
  • St. George's Church - Dolyna - (Donetsk region)
  • House of Culture named after Karl Marx and Museum of the History of Ilyich complex - Mariupol - (Donetsk region)
  • Holy Transfiguration Church - Mariupol - (Donetsk region)       
  • Holy Dormition Church - Mariupol - (Donetsk region)
  • Church of the Blessed Virgin "Joy of All Who Sorrow" - Bohorodychne (Donetsk region)
  • Wooden All Saints' Hermitage - Sviatohirsk (Donetsk region)
  • St. Nicholas Church - Lyman (Donetsk region)
  • Church of St. Theodosius of Chernihiv - Stavky (Donetsk region)
  • Volodymyrska baptismal church - Lyman (Donetsk region)            
  • Mariinsky Women's Gymnasium (built in 1894)  - Mariupol (Donetsk region)
  • Pokrovsky Monastery - Lyman (Donetsk region) 
  • Building of the early twentieth century that houses a synagogue - Mariupol (Donetsk region)
  • Church (Former Choral Synagogue) - Mariupol (Donetsk region)
  • Church of the Winners - Slovyansk (Donetsk region)
  • Music School - Sviatohirsk (Donetsk region)   
  • Cultural Centre of the Federation of Greek Societies of Ukraine - Mariupol (Donetsk region)     
  • Church of St. Makaria - Toretsk (Donetsk region)
  • Cultural Center "Meotida" - Mariupol (Donetsk region)
  • House of Culture (a building of the middle of the XXth century) - Mariupol (Donetsk region)     
  • Residential Building in Mariupol (Built in 1880) - Mariupol (Donetsk region)   
  • Technological Lyceum (1936 building) - Mariupol (Donetsk region)   
  • Building of the city center for Culture and Leisure (built in 1902, reconstructed in 1924) - Bakhmut (Donetsk region)
  • Chapel in Bohorodychne - Bohorodychne (Donetsk region)
  • Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary - Verkhn'okam'yans'ke (Dontesk region) 
  • Holy Assumption St. Nicholas-Vasilyevsky Monastery - Mykil's'ke (Donetsk region)   
  • Church Word of Truth - Mariupol (Donetsk region)   
  • Kingdom Hall of Jehovah's Witnesses in Marinka - Marinka (Donetsk region)  

Luhansk Region (26 DAMAGED SITES)

  • St. Catherine's Church (Katerynynsʹka Tserkva) - (Luhansk region)
  • Church in honor of the Icon of the Mother of God "Joy of All Who Sorrow" in Sverodonets - (Luhansk region)
  • Islamic Cultural Centre "Bismillah" in Severodonetsk- (Luhansk region)
  • Church of the Nativity in Severodonetsk- (Luhansk region)
  • St. Tykhvin Church - (Luhansk region)
  • St. Nicholas Chuch - (Luhansk region)
  • Church of St. Luke of Crimea (building of the early XXI century) - (Luhansk region)
  • Building of the former Soda barracks (Built in 1895) - Lysychansk - (Luhansk region)
  • Three Saints Church - Popasna (Luhansk region)
  • Youth Center (Building of the former club of engineers) - Lysychansk (Luhansk region)
  • Popasna Railway station (architectural monument of local significance, built in 1878-93) - Popasna (Luhansk region)
  • Church of the Pochayiv Icon of the Mother of God - Rubizhne (Luhansk region)
  • Palace of Culture "Diamond" (built in 1952) - Lysychansk (Luhansk region) 
  • Palace of Culture of Chemists (built in 1967) - Severodonetsk (Luhansk region)  
  • Luhansk Regional Academic Ukrainian Music and Drama Theater - Severodonetsk (Luhansk region)    
  • Palace of Culture - Rubizhne (Luhansk region) 
  • Building of the Lysychansk State Mining and Industrial College  - Lysychansk (Luhansk region)
  • Severodonetsk Central City Library - Severodonetsk (Luhansk region)
  • College of Culture and Arts - Severodonetsk (Luhansk region)
  • Church of St. Feodosiy of Chernihiv (built in 1896-1902) - Mykhailvka (Luhansk region)
  • Chapel in honor of St. Seraphim of Sarovsky - Severodonetsk (Luhansk region)
  • Church of the Holy Spirit (building of the beginning of the 21st century) - Severodonetsk (Luhansk region)
  • Lysychansk Music School - Lysychansk (Luhansk region)
  • St. Nicholas Church (built in 1873-82) - Borivs'ke (Luhansk region)
  • Holy Intercession Church - Kreminna (Luhansk region)
  • Kingdom Hall of Jehovah's Witnesses in Severodonetsk - Severodonetsk (Luhansk region) 

Sumy Region (8 DAMAGED SITES)

  • Okhtyrka City Museum of Local Lore - (Sumy region)
  • Architectural monument of the former People's House (1911-1914) - (Sumy region)
  • Historical monument f architecture of national importance - the house of the estate manager L.E. Koenig (1911) - (Sumy region)
  • Monument in honor of the 183rd Tank Brigade (WW2) - (Sumy region)
  • Okhtyrka City Council (building of the 20th century) - (Sumy region)
  • Locomotive depot "Smorodyne" (building 1877) - (Sumy region)
  • The main house museum of the estate L.E. Koenig (building from the late XVIII century - 1870; part of Trostyanetsky Museum and Exhibition Center) - (Sumy region)
  • Mass grave of Soviet soldiers and Monument in Velyka Pysarivka village - (Sumy region)

Mykolaiv region (6 DAMAGED SITES)

  • Church of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary (built in 1852) - Kyselivka (Mykolaiv region)
  • Turkish well monument of the 18th century - Hurivka (Mykolaiv region)
  • City Palace of Culture - Ochakiv (Mykolaiv region) 
  • Palace of Culture "Korabelny" - Mykolaiv (Mykolaiv region)
  • Mykolaiv Academic Art Drama Theater - Mykolaiv (Mykolaiv region)
  • Palace of creativity of students - Mykolaiv (Mykolaiv region)

Vinnytsya region (2 DAMAGED SITES)

  • Officers' House (Monument of architecture and urban planning of local importance built in the 1930s) - Vinnytsya (Vinnytsya region)
  • Church of St. George the Victorious - Vinnytsya (Vinnytsya region) 

Odesa region (1 DAMAGED SITES)

  • Odessa Fine Arts Museum - Odesa (Odesa region)

Dnipropetrovs'k region (1 DAMAGED SITES)

  • St. Oleksii Church - Velyka Kostromka (Dnipropetrovs'k region

Sources & Photos: UNESCO, Ukrainian Institute, Ukrainian War Art, Ministry of Culture of Ukraine, Bloomberg

Data research and dataset provided by Magdalena Wałek.

Foter Magazine is a premier architecture, decoration, interiors and design website. We inspire and guide you to make your home a more attractive place.

SHARE

Related content